Working With Composers

Recent projects include:

  • Commissioning a new work from Gabriel Jackson for the Vale of Glamorgan Festival
  • A call for works for Juice and members of the Riot Ensemble with a collaborative performance in November 2014.
  • Commissioning a new work from Luke Styles for juice, jazz outfit Tangent and dancers as part of New Music Biennial.
  • A recording collaboration with singer-songwriter, David Thomas Broughton with a CD to be released on Song by Toad in Autumn 2014.
  • Commissioned a new work from American composer Toby Twining, premiered at Wesleyan University in the U.S. Funds generously donated by Minjas Zugik.
  • Commissioning a new work from Southbank beatboxer-in-residence, Shlomo with funds generously donated by the RVW Trust and our own supporters & friends in our We Fund campaign.
  • Working with four incredibly talented young composers (Bernard Hughes, Laurence Osborn, Sarah Lianne Lewis and Na’ama Zisser) on the SAM Portfolio scheme.
  • Devising a new show with singer/body percussionist/composer, MaJiKer, details of which can be found HERE.
  • Performing a newly written live score by composer Mira Calix with electronics for the BFI Hitchcock series, showing a newly-mastered version of his 1928 film about a spoilt little rich girl, ‘Champagne’.
  • Premiering ‘Five New Songs’ by Irish composer Peter Moran in which we are accompanied by spoken word field recordings including a train announcer at York Train Station, Dublin’s Henry Street sellers and an evangelical preacher from the 1930’s.

We formed Juice in 2003 with the aims of promoting contemporary music,  increasing repertoire for female voices and challenging preconceptions of the a cappella genre and the female voice.

Since then, we have commissioned many pieces and premiered countless new works, championing up-and-coming composers and celebrating the work of those more established. These composers have included:

Morton Feldman / Elisabeth Lutyens / Anna Meredith / Paul Mealor / Gavin Bryars / Nicola LeFanu / Gabriel Prokofiev / Dai Fujikura / Errollyn Wallen / Roxanna Panufnik / Roger Marsh / Thoma Simaku / Elspeth Brooke / Rob Fokkens / Richard Barnard / Robert Percy / Paul Robinson / Mica Levi / Jim Murray / Adam Melvin / Philip Neil Martin / Damien Harron / Elaine Mitchener / Hannah Kendall / Laurence Roman / Luke Styles / Duncan MacLeod / Peter Moran / Piers Hellawell / Ivan Moody / Lucy Mulgan / Eamonn O’Dwyer / Stef Conner / Morag Galloway / David Breslin / James Lindsay / Richard Barnard